Home KNEC News Portal Teachers Service Commission, TSC, new and revised organization structure; Organogram

Teachers Service Commission, TSC, new and revised organization structure; Organogram

The Teachers Service Commission was formed in July 1967 through an Act of Parliament to give teachers one employer and uniform terms and conditions of service. It was charged with the mandate of registering, employing, promoting, disciplining and paying teachers.


The Teachers Service Commission, TSC, developed a new Organization Structure and the following are the major highlights:-


Three Directorates each to be headed by a Deputy Commission Secretary (DCS) have been established. The Directorates are:-

  1. Finance and Administration
  2.  Teacher Management
  3. Human Resource Management & Development.

Each Directorate will have Divisions, Sections and Sub-Sections.

 Here are links to the most important news portals:


A Division will be headed by a Director while a Section will be headed by a Senior Deputy Director. There are also specialized units to be headed by a Director or a Senior Deputy Director.

The following are the Directorates with the Divisions and the Specialized units under them:-

  1. Teacher Management Directorate

  • Staffing Division
  • Quality Assurance and Standards & Teacher Registration Division
  • Field Services Division

 2. Finance and Administration Directorate

  • Finance and Accounts Division
  •  General Administration Division

 3.  Human Resource Management & Development

  • Human Resource Management Division
  • Human Resource Development Section
  • Pensions Section

    4. Specialized Units

The following specialized units will report directly to the Chief Executive Officer:-

  • Information, Communication and Technology
  • Legal Services division
  • Internal Audit division
  • Corporate Communication section
  • Policy Planning Research & Innovation section
  • Supply Chain Management section

5. Decentralised Units

In addition to the existing Counties and Sub County structure, the Commission has established the following Regional Offices to be headed by TSC Regional Coordinators.

  • Nairobi
  • Rift Valley
  • Central
  • Eastern
  • Coast
  • Nyanza
  • Western
  • North Eastern.

The Regional Coordinators will report to the Deputy Commission Secretary, Teacher Management.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here