Current list of TSC Commissioners 2021-2027

The Teachers Service Commission, TSC, is run by Commissioners. The Commission consists of a Chairperson and eight other members appointed in accordance with the Constitution and provisions of Section 8 of the TSC Act.

A TSC Commissioner should serve for a minimum of one term of three years or a maximum term of six years.

List of current TSC Commissioners

S/NTSC Commissioner NameYear appointedYear to exitResponsibility
1Dr Jamleck Muturi John20212027Chairperson
2Mbage Njuguna4/5/20202026Member
3Leila Abdi4/5/20202026Member
4Timon Oyucho20212027Member


TSC Chairperson- Dr. Jamleck Muturi John.

New TSC Chairperson
New TSC Chairperson Dr Jamleck Muturi John

Dr. Muturi is the TSC Commission Chairperson; having been appointed in 2021. If he serves his full term of 6 years, then he is set to retire in 2027. Read more about the TSC Chair, here.

TSC Commissioner- Mr Timon Oyucho

TSC Commissioner Mr. Timon Oyucho
TSC Commissioner Mr. Timon Oyucho

Before his appointment as a TSC Commissioner, in 2021, Mr Timon Oyucho has been serving as the Director Legal, Labour and Industrial Relations Directorate.

He holds a Masters of Law from the University of Nairobi, Post Graduate Diploma in Law from the Kenya School of Law, Bachelor of Law from the University of Nairobi and a Diploma in Science Education.

Prior to his appointment, Mr Oyucho served as an Assistant Deputy Director Legal, Labour & Industrial Relations Directorate. He has also served as a Principal Discipline Officer, Provincial Staffing Officer, District Staffing Officer and Principal Ratta Mixed Secondary School in Kisumu.

You may also like; TSC Commissioners; Current list, responsibilities and qualifications

TSC Commissioner- Mr. Mbage Njuguna Nganga

TSC Commissioner Mr. Mbage Njuguna Nganga
TSC Commissioner Mr. Mbage Njuguna Nganga

Mr Ng’ang’a was appointed member of the Teachers Service Commission on 29th April 2020. Prior to his appointment, he had served in various capacities both in the private sector and in public service.

Mr Ng’ang’a is a graduate of the University of Nairobi (Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree). He also holds a Masters of Law (LLM) degree from the University of London and a Master of Science (MsC ) degree in Agricultural Development from the University of London.

He has also undertaken further advanced and specialized Executive programs in Financial Law, Economic Development, Public Enterprise Reform and Regulatory Law in leading Universities and other institutions of higher learning which include Harvard University – Kennedy School of Government, Cambridge University – Jesus College, University of Florida – Public Utilities Research Centre, Duke University – Duke Centre for International Development, and the International Law Institute.

TSC Commissioner- Ms Leila A. Ali

New TSC Commissioner Leila Abdi.
TSC Commissioner Leila Abdi.

Ms Leila A. Ali was appointed member Teachers Service Commission on 4th May 2020. She has a wealth of experience in the financial sector spanning over 12 years both in Kenya and the United Kingdom. MS Leila has actively been involved in incubating different small sized companies into profitable and successful companies.

She has worked with Baker Tily Merali as the in charge of planning and execution of large and medium sized company’s due diligences and audits including those of non-governmental organizations. Ms Leila has also served in various boards including the Wangari Maathai Foundation and the Competition Authority of Kenya.

She holds BA (Hons) in Accounting and Finance from the London South Bank University. Ms Leila is an affiliate of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top